h1

Second time around

October 27, 2010

This pregnancy has been different in many ways compared to my first one. The major difference being that while running after a 9 month old, running a business, doing freelancer work and studying for my Master’s on the side I simply don’t have time to think (or worry) about the pregnancy and baby a lot. And it makes me a little sad, since the first time everything was so exciting, spectacular and brand new and I was monitoring every possible symptom. Now I feel guilty that I’m not thinking about this newcomer enough and bonding with him/her. I know it’s silly since I’m only 9w1d preggo but that’s how I’m feeling. In a way this pregnancy still feels a inconceivable even though I’ve seen the heartbeat myself in the u/s.

Symptomwise it has been different too. I’m much more nauseous this time (although I’ve managed not to puke yet!). Especially around 10-12 AM after eating my breakfast. All smells make me want to vomit. Try changing a diaper full of poop or opening the dishwasher full of dirty dishes. YUCK.

The first weeks I was tired as hell but that seems to be getting a little easier now. Well I still hit the bed around 9PM. I’m also freezing all the time. Don’t have a pizza face this time, let’s hope it stays that way :D! Where as first time around I was craving everything fresh; grapes, fruit juices, pineapple, this time it’s a totally different story. I’m dying for salami, crisps and BigMacs. Pass the salt and grease please! I’m sure the maternity nurse will be thrilled to hear about my diet lately…

How I got preggo in a normal way is still a mystery to us. RE suspected that the first pregnancy cured my endo so much that it was easier to conceive in a natural way. I also think that not having to work 9 to 5 and not having to stress about everything helped. Maybe as well the fact that after the pregnancy I couldn’t lose all the kilos I had gained and my BMI is now in the “normal” scale, not underweight.

We told DH’s family last weekend and my sister-in-law said she had already guessed by looking at me! WOOT?! I can’t be showing already! Must be all the salami I’ve enjoyed.

3 comments

  1. Wow! It’s like I wrote this post! I’ve been feeling the exact same way. Guilty because I’ve been too busy to really think about the new baby. And first time around I LIVED off off fresh fruits and veggies, this time around I’m all about the savoury foods that (I’m sure) aren’t doing anything good for my waistline! Good luck to you! Hope the rest of your pregnancy goes well!


  2. Glad to hear I’m not the only one 🙂 Enjoy your pregnancy too!


  3. I love your RE’s theory on how this pregnancy occurred naturally… I would love some of that same magic!



Leave a Reply

