h1

Midsummer pics

June 26, 2009

We celebrated midsummer in Finland last weekend. It was freaking cold of course. But the cottage at the island by the sea was awesome. Me and DH stayed in a small sauna cabin just 10 meters from the sea and could hear the waves inside. Very relaxing, as was the whole weekend. Just going to sauna, swimming (the water was ice-cold), eating and chilling. I loved every second of it, even though the weather was cold and windy. There were 2 other preggo ladies (DH’s friend’s wife and DH’s friend’s sister) with me so if I hadn’t been pregnant myself the weekend would have been horrible, continuous stabs in the heart. Even still I really can’t identify myself within the “pregnant” group. And if I share my news with a friend who doesn’t know about our struggles I feel I need to tell them I’ve had if-treatments. I just can’t pretend to have been knocked up “normally”.

But here are some pics from the weekend:

Me in the boat

Me in the boat

Boys barbequing

Boys barbequing

View to the sea

View to the sea

In front of the sauna cabin

In front of the sauna cabin

Me and the sea

Me and the sea

Watching the bonfire

Watching the bonfire

The bonfire closer

The bonfire closer

After last weekend the weather changed totally. Now it’s real summer! This week has been great; for once I’ve been able to do all summerish stuff I’ve always wanted to. First I spent Tuesday with my friend M at the flea market selling our old stuff, me gaining 100 euros. On wednesday me, M and two other friends went to Suomenlinna which is an old fortress in an island just outside Helsinki (very popular with the tourists) and had a picnic (that lasted 4 hours). Today I’m going swimming to an outside pool with a friend and in the afternoon I’ll drive to my parents as tomorrow me and sis will be selling jewelry at a small rock festival near them. This is how summers should always be. I’ve been even able to wear my cute summer dresses 🙂

On Monday I had the first visit at the maternity counseling. They took my blood pressure (which was surprisingly ok, usually I have high figures), Hemoglobin (great 140!) and some pee tests. I was also weighed and so far I’ve only gained one kilo. My nurse was a bit goofy and didn’t understand anything about if-treatments. I also got all kinds of brochures about pregnancy and the list of foods I’m not allowed to eat now like blue cheese, roe and liver.

We had the NT-scan yesterday and everything seemed to be in order. The baby was so stubborn though that he/she didn’t want to have his profile picture taken and turn into right position  so the nurse had hard time measuring the nuchal translucency but somehow succeeded, it was 1.0mm which is fine. He/she measured now 4,7cm and again I was a few days ahead the previous schedule, so now my due date would be 10th January which is actually the due date I should have had originally compared to my treatment schedule.

My face still looks like a disgusting pizza and pretty much all acne medication is a big no-no when you are preggo. The morning sickness is more of evening sickness these days. And my belly gets ridiculously swollen after eating anything; yesterday after having salad I looked 5 months pregnant. I even had to buy myself new capri-pants from the flea market as the ones I had before don’t fit anymore. Today I’m either 11 weeks 2 days or 11 weeks 5 days, depending on which schedule I’m looking.

Next Tuesday we’ll leave for Spain! I reserved an apartment for us so we’ll be living in a real Andalusian house! The only problem is that the proprietor doesn’t really speak English and we don’t speak Spanish. Well, I hope we’ll manage somehow. After the trip I think I’ll come out of the closet and tell all my friends about the baby.

Have a great, sunny weekend everyone 🙂

3 comments

  1. The pictures are beautiful! Have a great time in Spain 🙂


  2. Beautiful pics.

    I wish I was there, as awesome as I remember.

    xoxo


  3. Oh, I want to go to Finland so much!!



Leave a Reply

