h1

You are fired!

January 23, 2009

Little did I know when I stated on my post yesterday that it was a matter of days that we would be sacked. That time, it was actually a matter of hours. We got the layoff papers yesterday afternoon.

Don’t feel sorry for me because I sure as hell don’t. Ok, financially this is a huge challenge, but otherwise it’s the kick on the butt I’ve been waiting for. I have no idea of my career in the future and at the moment I’m liking it. Scary? Yes. Exciting? You bet.

Through unemployement office it might be possible to get to try on new occupations as an apprentice while cashing in the unemployement benefits. I’d like to try working in a flower shop because it’s been my dream for so long. For a while I dreamt about being a confectioner but then I realised they have to start working like 3AM in the morning so that was that then.

My work history began at the age of 15 when I had a summer job in a photo shop. I ended up working in different photo shops during summers/holidays until 2005 when we moved to Helsinki. Actually it would be fun to try that again too, although the business doesn’t feel the same now that everything has gone digital. I used to love developing films. When we moved to Helsinki I worked 6 months in a video game store and then quit because I wanted to something that I’d been studying for. I started in my current position in April 2006, so I spent almost 3 years here. I’ve never been unemployed before. In a way it feels quite liberating 🙂

One comment

  1. I get that. Time for new adventures.

    Good luck!! I bet you find just what you have been looking for. You are right, sometimes we just need a kick in the pants.

    xoxo



Leave a Reply

