h1

Choosing clinics and ranting

July 14, 2008

It was quite an overstatment to say I would google “all” the private fertility clinics in Helsinki. There are like 4 of them. And of course all are closed during this month for the holidays, so more waiting ahead, looks like it’ll be at least one natural cycle before treatments after all.

We narrowed our options to two of them. I don’t know which one we will choose, other is more expensive but there we wouldn’t have to wait so much. IVF costs around 1900 euros (2950$) in the first and 1500 euros (2330$) in the other clinic. The prices are the ones we pay after government’s part has been reduced so the real prices are almost 1000 euros higher. The government pays a part of infertility treatment for couples with woman under 40 in Finland. Both clinics seem professional and have had good feedback in the discussion boards I’ve been reading. 400 euros is a lot of money for us but of course I want to have the best possible treatment and results. Why do I need to ponder these things? Why I can’t just get pregnant like a normal woman?

I visited a friend and her 5 months old son yesterday. Seeing babies doesn’t really hurt me so much, as seeing pregnant women does. My friend told me about a friend of hers who got pregnant after like one month of trying and who is now totally sick of motherhood and lets her mother-in-law take care of the baby and still complains how difficult and demanding it is and gave up nursing after one month so she wouldn’t be so attached to the baby and could have more social life. Now the baby is 3 months old and she got herself a workplace for the summer so that she wouldn’t be so isolated from her social circles. Seriously, why people like this deserve to get pregnant, why??

Yesterday afternoon while driving home I said to my husband that this month was better, only one hormonal desperation-crying-seizure before the menses. Of course in the evening I got hit by one gigantic burst of those.

5 comments

  1. Yeah, I had the same shock when I started googling ‘all’ the clinics in my area…LMAO.

    How’s NONE for you. I have to drive 5 hours for mine, grrrrrrrrrrrr. LOL

    Sorry they are all on vacation now though. HOpefully you hit the mark this month and save all that money and you can spend it on baby stuff instead!!!

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you guys!

    xoxo


  2. 5 hours, that sucks! I think it would be the same if I’d live in the northern Finland. There you have to drive almost 5 hours just to get to any hospital. So I’m lucky to live in Helsinki for this part, although I don’t like the city otherwise.

    The more expensive clinic opens next week, I’m starting to think I want to go there because my husband already had his tests done there and they have IVM which other clinics don’t have yet. But of course it’d be great if we wouldn’t have to go to any clinic. Although the pessimist of me doesn’t sees that option only as a daydream anymore.


  3. I will still keep everything crossed.

    A freebie would be wonderful!!! πŸ™‚

    xoxo

    And I really liked Helsinki, but I am a bit of a small town girl myself, so would probably love the north there too. πŸ™‚


  4. I’m a small town girl too πŸ™‚ I think Helsinki is just too big for me, I’d love to move back to countryside but all the media-related jobs are here.


  5. Yeah, that is always the thing. I’d have a way better flying job if I was willing to move to Toronto….

    But I refuse…LOL.

    πŸ™‚



Leave a Reply

