h1

Pathological

June 12, 2008

I got the pathologist’s statement in mail on Tuesday. Didn’t understand a word of it, although it seemed to be written on my mother tongue, Finnish. Had to google half of the words just in case the paper was saying something horrible. According to the statement, I have (freely translated) somewhat severe endometriosis. What the hell does the “somewhat” part mean? Does it mean “mildly” or “quite severe”? Why do they send people these papers filled with medical jargon that only make you anxious, without any translations or explanations?

After my surgery I asked the doctor whether my endometriosis was mild or severe. See said that it was the milder type. Now it’s severe.

I tried calling the hospital this morning and getting a telephone appointment with the doctor, but they said they don’t have those and I should try to call the office next Monday and try to catch her… After my surgery I wasn’t given any follow-up appointment and now this pahology statement that is only causing more stress… Great.

2 comments

  1. UGH.

    That sucks. As much as I hate myself and my blocked tubes, at least I know what the problem is.

    I dont’ have endo, but I know it’s painful and crappy. 😦 I’m sorry.

    Hopefully it was just a typo and you only have mild.

    Speaking of your mother tongue, I will have to get brave and start to try…I used to speak when I was little, and when I was there last I was back to semi communicating.. but would love to become fluent again one day. My non Finn partner is also in love with your country, so he is learning with me!! πŸ™‚


  2. I still haven’t called the doctor about this, but I hope it’s mild. If it even makes any difference. I hate endo so much sometimes for making me infertile, I think my head will burst. You are right, ttc really takes a lot out of you!

    If you need someone to practice Finnish with, I can help πŸ™‚

    I wish you too best of luck, I hope we both don’t have to wait anymore!



Leave a Reply

